Emergency: Day 3

We met with our pastor friend in the waiting room of the PICU.  He was checking in on us to see how we were holding up.  My husband brought up some questions about funeral arrangements.

I gave my husband that look, “Don’t you think it’s preemptive of us to talk about it?”

Fabian gave me that look back, like we’ve gone over this already on the drive to the hospital.

But I don’t want to talk about a funeral.  I just want to yell, Why are we talking about a funeral if she’s not dead yet?!  But instead I calmly ask, “Why can’t we talk about it later?” 

“Lynsey, I don’t think you understand,” Fabian explained.  “When Zephy passes, I won’t be able to think straight and probably can’t have these conversations.  I need to find out answers and make decisions now while I can.”

Our pastor was very understanding.  He reminded me that there’s wisdom in that. And just because we talk about it, it doesn’t mean it will happen.

So we sat in the room and asked a few questions. We discussed cremation vs caskets and where we would have the funeral service.  He asked us what we would like.

“I imagine a big photo of Zephy with flowers.” Fabian started to say.  “Lynsey will probably want to make a video.”

“What do you think, Lynsey?” Our pastor asked.

I shook my head and looked far off to the right trying to hold back my tears but I couldn’t.  “It’s just really hard…” I said shaking my head.  “This is the time I’m supposed to be planning Zephy’s 1st birthday and… instead I’m planning her funeral…”

Life can seem so cruel at times.

Our pastor said, “Earlier you made a good point that it’s inevitable that Zephy will pass away but how you spend each day touching her, making her hair, spending time with her, it’s such a blessing.  Each day you have with her is a gift.  She’s been a blessing to so many.”  With a gentle smile he continued, “When you think about it, she can’t even talk and yet she’s spreading the gospel.  That’s amazing!”

“Yeah, you’re right.” I nodded.

“This video, you don’t know what you’ll use it for, it doesn’t have to be sad. It’s a celebration of her life, something you would’ve made for her 1st birthday, right?”

I thought about it.  He was right.  The video is a celebration of her life that could look the same whether it was for her birthday or a funeral.  She still might have a 1st birthday, I thought to myself. Or a funeral, I thought again.  I can’t help it.  I don’t know what to think.

I thought about all the things we’ve done with Zephy and how we spent our time with her.  “Yes, I would really like to make a video for Zephy.”

After he prayed for us, we said goodbye to our pastor and headed towards the PICU to spend time with our daughter again.

“Hey little girl!” We exclaimed.  We made the biggest expressions and sang the silliest made up songs. We got right in her face to let her know we’re there.  We kissed her head and her chubby cheeks giving her a “kissy sandwich” with both of us claiming a cheek.  While tickling her foot, we sang songs and ran our fingers through her soft brown hair.

We love our little girl so much.  Each moment with her is such a blessing.

Zephy is in stable condition. Her oxygen is still cranked up but not maxed out. She has a fluid treatment that her body is responding to. She still lays there, unmoving and sedated. To us, it’s almost no different than usual since her limited brain activity and seizure drugs made her already like that. Her CRP (infection) number went down to 14.  Praise God.  They said they want to start feeding her a whopping 5ml! It’s a small amount to see if she can handle it. Her normal is 140ml.  We were really surprised.  But if she can handle it, then that’s good.  She just might pull through this time.  

My husband and I sat in her room and chatted.

I couldn’t stop talking about God.  “I think God is preparing us for Zephy’s funeral.  You know, He always does that.  Like how the thought about moving to Hawaii came months before we actually decided.  Or how I was going to move to Okinawa.  The idea of it came up months before I actually had the opportunity.  God always tells me ahead of time so I can accept it when the real time comes.  I think that’s one of the benefits of walking with God.  What’s that scripture again about the Master telling his servant his plans? Or being a friend of God or something?”

John 15:15

“I no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.”

“I think that this is God’s mercy toward us.” I continued.  “Some parents don’t have the opportunity to say goodbye to their little one. But at least God is giving us that. Overall this is an awful situation to be in, but within it, I can see God’s hand and sovereignty helping us walk through it.”

We both agree that the Lord is preparing us.  My husband described it as being on a plane where both engines go out and as the plane goes shooting down, the pilot says, “Brace for impact!”

Even though God is telling us what to prepare for, we both agree that we are not prepared and no parent can ever prepare to lose their child.  And as the plane goes down, we are sick to our stomachs waiting for the moment of impact.

This is a very hard, hard, road.

This verse was on my mind this morning, and I hold on to it during this time.

Lamentations 3:22

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.

I feel like this song expresses our feelings emotionally and spiritually.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Victoria Reid says:

    Love you

    Like

  2. Beautifully written. And when the Lord allows your tent to grow because of the many children He will give you, your faithfulness and encouragement will continue to minister to the masses. xoxo

    Like

  3. Tarn Liu says:

    Still standing with you guys in prayer! You stronger than you know & yes God is preparing you in many ways. His glorious hand has groomed the both of you throughout this journey. Love u guys. Aloha

    Like

  4. Tamara says:

    Thinking of you all. X

    Like

  5. Taryn says:

    Lyn…I can’t imagine what you are going through but encouraged knowing you are walking with the Lord. He will carry you through the hardest seasons of life. I never really knew the footprints in the sand truly meant until my cancer journey. I can say that He truly carried me through everything that I thought I couldn’t handle. Like your Pastor said, Zephy might not have said one word, but her life was a testimony to many. Her voice is powerful. You’re such an amazing mother and she’s so blessed. I love you!

    Like

  6. beneath12 says:

    I was telling Anderson the other day, that when we all get to heaven, what a day of rejoicing that would be, like that hymn… And I was just imagining the wonderful reunión when we all see Jesus, and I imagined You and Zephy and just all love!!!! I had to close my eyes and savor that beautiful moment in my mind, but I believe my imagination is nothing compared to what God has prepared for us when He comes. Indeed no eye has seen, no ear has heard, the good that the Lord has prepared for those who wait on Him! I think that is the beautiful Hope we have. This is indeed temporary. So we continue to live in Hope. You guys are loved and prayed for! And yay still for the progress, Zephy! 😘💞

    Like

  7. Ginny says:

    I still pray life and healing for you all and especially Zephy. Though we’ve never met I love you all and have prayed since day 10 when I learned from Lawrenes fb page about you all. My friends have been praying as well. I learned to pray LIFE prayers because of Zephy and her progresses, and my conversations with Father. So much so, I got to experience miracles I would not have. One was a baby dead in the womb brought back to life 7 days later.! Another was a drowned 4 year old boy,, alive and well now with no adverse brain damage. A 3 year old boy with a brain tumor now playing outside like the nieghborhood kids! Several miraculous healings,, and a hardcore satanist baptized and choosing Jesus! I’ve prayed for sick animals, stolen Ashes of a friends son returned, immediate changes in weather patterns, and my own brothers brain cancer gone! This is to name just a few things in less than a year. Zephy and your LIFE convictions faith in Father who makes the impossible possible, have changed my life and others! I know you are weary, and I stand holding your arms up, standing in the gap when you cannot. I pray for Zephy still, that Father, Lord and King of Everything, Creator, Redeemer and lover of all, completly heals Zephy here on Earth,! That Zephy miraculously climbs the ladder skipping rungs, to the top! Full Abundant life as He originated for her. In Jesus name! I ask Holy Spirit to envelope you all, give wisdom and intellect to the doctors and bless all those caring for Zephy. Bring His peace and comfort, along with energy and strength to you and Fabian. I know the heart ache of the death of a child. I pray LIFE for your child Zephy, LiFe abunantly, On Earth as it is in Heaven! Selah.. ❤️

    Like

  8. Elizabeth Barnes says:

    Your precious little one has touched my heart. I read your entire story in one day. I will be praying!💜

    Like

  9. Marcia Hasbrouck says:

    Our prayers continue with and little Zephy…May the peace of our Lord be upon you and guide you as you wait for His plan to unfold!

    Like

  10. Terri Charette says:

    My heart hurts for you and Zephy, but your strength in the Lord is so strong and I pray for his continued comfort, wisdom and strength over you.

    Like

  11. Audra Robinson says:

    Praying for you all. How is Zephy doing now? God Bless you all!

    Like

Leave a comment